How to create an alpha blending image?
As the title states, I want to create an image that blends with other images. Does anyone know how to do this?
themuffinator Rep. 1044
#2   20 Jul 2012
You can blend textures in a shader without using alpha layers (like for water, skies, etc) using blendFunc in the shader. But if you specifically want to use an alpha (for different levels of opacity across the texture) then what image editor are you using?
KommissarReb (SW12) Rep. 2362
#3   20 Jul 2012
You could try photoshop.
I'm using Photoshop, but I have little knowledge of how to use it properly.
themuffinator Rep. 1044
#5   21 Jul 2012
I'm a Paint Shop Pro type of guy, so for you I'll say YouTube is your friend...

www.youtube.com/watch

^^^ That is in CS5 but it's still pretty similar for older versions of PSP.
So when you have your TGA image sorted out with an alpha, then you'll want to write a shader for it using alphaFunc stage directives:

q3map2.robotrenega...directives.html

A good example is textures/base_floor/techfloor2 in base_floor.shader.

Thank you for that, it works!
CZghost Rep. 1681
#7   27 Jul 2012
I prefer GIMP than a PS... It's not good as PS, but it's free and have full support on Linux... I'm using GIMP 2.8.0, which is a bit improved version of GIMP - have function of one-window mode - it simply docks the additional windowsto the workspace window and you can maximize the window, so you haven't to move the tools or layers window to the other side, when you want to run something else (for example Quake3)... All images opened are in single window, you just have to switch the tab with image preview to the tab with preview of image, you want to edit now... All changes you do in these images are done in one window, the tools, layers and brush presets are docked on the sides of the window... No moving needed...